top of page
Search
  • Liz

vegan bechamel recipe

At our house, we live kosher style, which means I don't buy strictly kosher products, but I try my best to keep milk and meat separate and not to eat things that aren't kosher like pork (except the occasional lobster and shrimp, which somehow keep sneaking into our house). I like making casseroles with leftover turkey and unidentifiable meats I have in the deep freezer, but it is always dry and the recipes I have found online always have a cheese sauce or a dairy-based sauce.


His first time in the shopping cart...which means 15 minutes in the cart then Mommy carrying him and pushing the rest of the time.

In addition to keeping a kosher-style house, since this little guy was about a week old, I have been on a dairy, soy and nut-free diet. This helps us not have lots of spit up issues and bloody diaper issues. Long story short, I am always on the hunt for sauces and liquids to mix into recipes to replace cheese-based and dairy-based sauces in recipes.

Last night I found a winner! Well I modified one I googled into a winner, I should say.


 

Here is how I made it:


Ingredients to get ready in advance


3 tablespoons of EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

2 tablespoons of APF (all purpose flour)

Ingredients to get ready

3 minced garlic cloves

Salt and Pepper to taste


Directions


Heat a saucepan with the EVOO for about 3 minutes on medium heat. Add the APF and stir constantly. If it starts to look burnt, the pan is too hot, so turn it way down and take the pan off the heat. mix vigorously for about 5 minutes or until your arm needs a break.

Add the coconut milk and stir really regularly, but not constantly (unless you feel the urge) for about 3 more minutes then add the minced garlic. Continue cooking until it reaches the desired thickness. Mine took about 10 more minutes. If you like a little extra heat in your sauce, you can add cayenne pepper or some red pepper flakes.


Enjoy!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Chicken Meatballs - Seriously they aren't that bad!

We tried chicken meatballs a few years ago and really weren't impressed. It might have been one of the least edible meals we have ever had. As a glutton for punishment, I bought more ground chicken th

Sleep Training

What a controversial topic! The baby caught a cold from his big sister which took a little over 2 weeks to shake and turned into a double ear infection. He went through about 3 or 4 weeks of not being

bottom of page